Ubuntu Studio: Connecting the Dots

I have experimented with Ubuntu Studio (in particular Home Recording) over the past 2 months, and I have been asking myself the question, can I actually use free Open Source applications to record music and perform live for the band that I play in?

The answer to this question is a resounding YES…

… but in order to make it happen, you need to drop the “Windows approach” to home recording / Live performance software and painlessly “bend your mind” to fit the open-source model…

I will not attempt to explain the solution at this point. I believe that it would take the entire summer to properly chain all approaches into a cohesive user guide (but I will attempt to eventually do this)…

What I would like to provide you with are four links to my Ubuntu Studio WIKIs that provide the basics fundamentals in using Ubuntu Studio for home recording. These links will also help you to compare and contrast the Audacity and Ardour DAW (Digital Audio Workstation) applications. These links (tutorials) make strong assumptions including the fact that I use a TASCAM US122 USB device to connect my MIDI keyboard / Guitar / Vocals as INPUTS to be recorded…

Here are my links:

Part I: [ Some Hardware Considerations ]

Part II: [ Running Jack and Using Qsynth ]

Part III: [ Using Audacity with Jack, Qsynth, and Hydrogen to Record a Song ]

Part IV: [ Using Ardour with Hydrogen, Bristol Organ to Record a Song ]

I believe that there is a strong interest in my Ubuntu Studio topics (wikis). As of June 25th, 2010, the number of visits to my General Ubuntu WIKI since the beginning of May 2010 has jumped by 7,000! Nearly 5,000 represent visits to the following WIKI within 6 weeks:

Part II: Using Audacity with Jack, Qsynth, and Hydrogen to Record a Song

I hope you find this useful and have lots of fun!

Murray

~ by Murray Saul on June 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
