My Mythbuntu 9.10 Upgrade Experience

I decided to take the plunge and upgrade my Mythtv system to Mythbuntu 9.10
Here is a post I made to Ubuntu Forum regarding my upgrade experience:

I’m using older 32-bit pentium IV (DELL) with following hardware items:

  • Hauppauge HVR1600 Dual Tuner card
  • Nvideo GEForce 7600 video graphics card

I upgraded to Mythbuntu 9.10 from 9.04, but it clobbered many of my settings (sound, card detection), it didn’t work correctly. At this point, I decided to perform a new install, but when I did, the system hung at “Starting NTP” prior to graphical login upon the first reboot.

Here is how I solved that problem:

  1. I edited the /etc/default/grub file.

    (btw, now notice you can’t edit /boot/grub/menu.lst file from a fresh install)…

  2. Changed the line that reads:

    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet splash”

    to read:

    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet nosplash vmalloc=256MB”

  3. After saving changes, run update-grub
  4. Reboot the system

When I upgraded, the system didn’t recognize ATSC portion of my Hauppauge HVR1600 dual tuner card, but when I did fresh install, it had no problem detecting all the cards…

I was impressed with the faster speed of scanning for NTSC (cable) and ATSC (OTA) channels. One thing I notice is that cable scan only displays up to channel 59, but higher channels are included and can be later viewed…

When running the Mythtv frontend, I noticed that pressing y key no longer works, but when you bring up the menu while watching TV, you can select to switch input. Perhaps a newer table of keys or instructions to map keys for Mythbuntu 9.10 would be in order here… The menu has more interesting features, and it is easier to move throughout the channels simply by using the arrow key.

I used to be able to move to different station in the EPG (Electronic Programming Guide) by pressing m, but this now brings up a menu item, and doesn’t allow me to move to that channel…

My Mythtv frontend didn’t display my OTA channels, but I followed old post I made that got it working for 9.10. Here is a link for those that may be experiencing the same problems (with the same hardware):

https://murraysaul.wordpress.com/2009…thtv-part-vii/

Here are some other things to consider when installing / upgrading to Mythbuntu 9.10:

  1. Be aware that Mythtv 0.22 has made some substantial changes. For example, to remove a recorded program (in either “Delete Recordings” or “View Recordings”), simply press the “d” key . A menu will appear to remove the recording…
  2. NOTE: The new version of Mythtv (0.22) requires other frontends to upgrade to that version as well…
  3. There are not many themes available in Mythtv 0.22 at this point in time. This will change in time. I used the Mythbuntu Wide theme (which works well for me)…

This is my experience… In general, very nice, but needs some more tweaks, but I’m running the newer system… Good.

FYI,
Murray Saul

~ by Murray Saul on November 1, 2009.

3 Responses to “My Mythbuntu 9.10 Upgrade Experience”

  1. I would have donated my nvidia 7800GTX if you were going to upgrade 😦

  2. Hello. This weekend I also upgraded to Ubuntu 9.10, and am running mythtv with the Hauppauge 1600. I’ve been looking for an answer as to why my “y” shortcut key doesn’t work (but switching inputs from the GUI does). I see you had the same issue. Did you ever find an answer? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
