Life is Stranger Than Fiction

I made an earlier post explaining that I play in a rock band. Here is a link to my post
[ I Guess Teachers Do Have Lives ]. I helped to start this band for recreation purposes – a chance to get out the house once a week and just play music. After four years, our band has played many locations, and we are now charging a cover-fee to help pay for the audio/lighting equipment that we rents for performances (a.k.a. – gigs).

One of the most *bizarre* gigs we did was something called “BaconFest” which was held in Brampton on June 20th 2009. The promoter (stage name Sebs Fox) had an old band called “Angel Warrior”, and decided to throw an event to celebrate the band’s 10th anniversary. Our band agreed to open for him, and back him up while he did the vocals. I guess the band only records music, but has never played live… so we helped out. Apparently Angel Warrior has a substantial online fan base – especially overseas….

This event was strange but I have to admit was fun. It included many bacon dishes, and a Mascot dressed up like a piece of Bacon, walking along the streets of downtown Brampton to encourage attendance. Here is one video that he made that outlines the event:

http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=113905421451&ref=mf

If you study that video, you actually see me sing (or yell) two songs “Bird is the Word” and “Let it Out”. Not bad for an old-timer eh? yeah, I know, I won’t quit my day job!

This event may have been strange, but hey, “a gig is a gig”. Like they say, “sometimes you gotta go with the flow”

Because our band backed up Sebs Fox, he had to name us his “Reinforcers”, and gave us Official names. Mine was “Red Talon”. I was never into Heavy Metal, but I guess I now have a “Heavy Metal” name. Here is another “official video” of the Angel Warrior experience, my “Heavy Metal” name appears at the credits at the end of the video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K1-lpSMV4f8

So in the end, it was an interesting experience. Had a lot of bacon to eat, played music, and someone created a couple of neat videos….

… now my teenage daughter states “my father has a rock video on YouTube – My life is now over!”

Murray

~ by Murray Saul on September 17, 2009.

5 Responses to “Life is Stranger Than Fiction”

  1. There was a BaconFest and I wasn’t informed?!

  2. lol rock on murray šŸ˜‰

  3. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! šŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the kind words,

      I need to post more on a regular basis.
      I have a lot to say on a lot of topics especially Linux and open source applications!

      Murray

Leave a Reply

 
