OTA / Continued…

WHAT A DIFFERENCE A FEW FEET MAKE!

When I first setup my cheap $30 OTA antenna ( at my home in Orangeville, Ontario ) in April, I noticed that I received a number of channels. Unfortunately, as the season continued into May and June, I noticed a number of channels were no longer available. It finally dawned on me that the leaves were starting to come out, and were affecting my digital TV reception. I have also read that lower placements can lower reception due to electronic interference from other houses…

Today, I temporarily placed my OTA antenna approximately ten feet above it’s current position. Our house is situated half-way down a hill, and the backyard faces south-east. Although this is an ideal location for the antenna, there are a lot of trees in our neighbour’s backyards that are very tall. By placing the antenna (almost to roof height), it clears at least some of these trees.

As I am writing this post, the antenna is hanging out my daughter’s bedroom window. Good thing she is visiting her friend today…

This new placement of the OTA antenna has greatly improved my reception. Here is an updated table of the stations that I receive:

DIGITAL STATIONS THAT I RECEIVE (Higher Location)

CALL LETTERS CHANNEL NETWORK / PURPOSE
WGRZ-HD 2_1 NBC – Regular Programming
WGRZ-US 2_2 US – Sports
WGRZ-RT 2_3 Retro Television Network (RTN)
CBLT-DT 5_1 CBC – English
CFTO-HD 9_1 CTV
WNED-HD 17_1 PBS – Regular Programming
WNED-SD 17_2 PBS – SIMULCAST of WNED
WNED-TH 17_3 PBS – “Think Bright”
WNLO-HD 23_1 CBS
CBLFD-D 25_1 CBC – French
CIII-DT 41_1 Global
OMNI 2 44_1 Independent
CITY TV 57_1 Independent
OMNI 1 64_1 Independent
CKXT-DT 66_1 SUN TV

As a user of Mythtv, my only complaint is that SchedulesDirect.org, the service that I subscribe for $20 USD / Year does not provide programming schedule information for Canadian DIGITAL channels! I find this strange since they provide programming schedule information for Canadian analog channels. This may be due to the fact that Canada does not require that all broadcasters switch to Digital Broadcasting until August 2011. Why is this important? I use Mythtv to automatically record my shows, movies, etc automatically by programming schedule guide. Then shows can be archived onto other media (such as DVDs) for later use. This is legal in Canada as long as it is for personal use…

Since I am a subscribed member of SchedulesDirect.org, I’m going to insist that they provide this for the GTA… I don’t understand why Buffalo residents don’t complain about not receiving this information for Canadian Digital TV channels since they reside on the other side of lake Ontario (go figure)…

Well, I have to go. I need to remove the antenna from my daughter’s bedroom window before she comes home… and find a permanent (perhaps higher?) location….

It pays to constantly experiment 🙂

~ by Murray Saul on July 12, 2009.

5 Responses to “OTA / Continued…”

  1. So I’ve bought an antenna – I guess when I install it at my new house I’ll have to try to avoid the trees – and there’s lots of them. Better to know now than later.

  2. On schedules direct use 14174, as your Zip Code..
    This will get you the US and Canadian channels.

  3. I also live in Orangeville and I was given a antenna. My husband and I were trying to set it up and we got no signal of any kind.
    Maybe we were high enough to pick up any stations……? Can you please give me any suggestions on what i can try to do????

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

 
