Mythtv – Part VII

FIXED CHOPPY ATSC HD PLAYBACK

In a previous post, I mentioned that I am receiving High Definition television signals via my OTA (Over-the-Air) digital antenna. I had mentioned “The only problem is that with many of the channels the playback is choppy.”

Thanks to assistance from other mythtv users such as Dave Minogue, I seem to have solved that problem.

Note: This solution applies to my specific hardware for my computer system. If you have a newer NVIDIA graphics card (8 series or above, you may not need to do this procedure).

Here are my Hardware Specifications for my Myth Box:

Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 7600 GS (AGP)
Hauppauge HVR1600 Dual Tuner Card (PCI)

First, I needed to change some of the settings in my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file:
(Note: added lines appear in green)

Section "Device"
    Identifier "Configured Video Device"
    Driver "nvidia"
    Option "UseEvents" "1"
    Option "DPI" "100×100"
    Option "NoLogo" "1"
    Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "false"
    Option "NVAGP" "0"

EndSection

Then I needed to change the following settings in the /etc/X11/XvMCConfig file
from: libXvMC.so.1
to: libXvMCNVIDIA_dynamic.so.1

Then make the following selections in the main Mythtv menu:

UTILITIES / SETUP -> SETUP -> TV SETTINGS -> PLAYBACK

Move forward by two screens.
Change CURRENT VIDEO PLAYBACK PROFILE to read CPU --
Move forward and return to the menu.

This now works quiet well. Although the playback when viewing HD stations via my OTA antenna is fine, it appears choppy when menu, or other graphic overlays appear on screen at same time when HD channel is playing, but when these overlays are gone, then playback resumes to normal (i.e. not choppy). I will continue to check on this and add a solution to this post when it is discovered…

~ by Murray Saul on July 11, 2009.

2 Responses to “Mythtv – Part VII”

  1. I noticed you use the Hauppauge HVR1600 Dual Tuner Card (PCI), is that a tuner card you would recommend. I intend to purchase a tuner for my PC to watch and record TV on my PC.

    • I have been happy with with the Hauppauge HVR1600 Dual Tuner Card on my Linux system (Mythbuntu 9.04 – after making adjustments that I mentioned in my Mythtv posts).

      In my opinion, the Windows software that came with the card (WinTV) sucks…

      You can simply press the y key to switch between OTA and Cable sources… when used in Mythtv…

Leave a Reply

 
