Blog Statistics

It has been nearly 3 weeks since I took my first *plunge* into blogging.

Since then, there have been approximately 2,500 visits to my website (although I suspect the majority of those come from my students taking my C programming and Bash Shell scripting courses).

Nonetheless, the numbers are encouraging. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I decided to use the website wordpress.com in order to create my blog. I was impressed by the short time I was able to be “up and running”. To tell you the truth, the hardest part of blogging will be trying to publish a blog entry every one or two weeks!

This site also has some impressive analytical tools to track visitors to the site. Below is a link to a screen capture showing part of the blog stats page that is provided in wordpress.com:
[ pic ]

Viewing the chart (from the screen capture) indicates a small number of people visiting the Blog during the first week, but then shoots upwards in the second week (when classes started). This also coincided with the redirection of my main college webpage to this site to allow me to combine my Blogging and Course Notes.

I notice a pattern where the volume of visits shoot upwards on Monday/Tuesday, then dips downward on Thursday, rebounds on Friday, and then plummets on the weekend (which tends to make sense). By the way, the statistics do NOT include the author’s location when calculating visits…

There are other useful features on the *Blog Stats* area such as frequency of links clicked to other webpages, as well as listing of other websites that have links to this Blog. This area also includes information on what search engines have linked to this site, and a listing of the actual search keywords… Cool!

I have been checking my Blog statistics from time to time, and I must admit, it is pretty neat (and a little addictive!)

~ by Murray Saul on January 26, 2009.

One Response to “Blog Statistics”

  1. ohhh gnar
    addictive to blogging
    i gotta work on those realtiy check (tough but fun)
    d^_^b

Leave a Reply

 
